Deposit over $500 and unlock loss coverage. View bonus
EVEDEX/Blog/Best Place to Buy Crypto in 2026: Fees at 8 Places Compared
Professional consulting on cryptocurrency investment strategies and risk management

Best Place to Buy Crypto in 2026: Fees at 8 Places Compared

Elizaveta Bakradze
Elizaveta Bakradze
February 20, 2026
8 minutes

Last Updated: September 15, 2026

The best place to buy crypto depends on how much you buy and whether you want to hold the coins. As of September 15, 2026, a $500 bitcoin purchase costs $5.00 in Kraken's 1% instant-buy fee, $7.50 on Cash App and $9.00 on PayPal before spreads, $35 to $100 at a Bitcoin ATM, or 0.25% a year through IBIT.

Every app shows a buy button, but the cost behind it is disclosed in very different ways. Some platforms publish a percentage fee, others build their margin into the spread between the buy price and the market price, and some do both. Payment method changes the bill again: cards carry extra fees on several platforms, and in-person kiosks cost the most, so check the safer ways to buy bitcoin with cash before using one. This guide compares eight places to buy by published fees, minimums, access and documented drawbacks, then shows what a $500 purchase costs at each and how to avoid the mistakes that cost buyers the most money. Custody matters too: centralized apps hold coins until you withdraw, our CEX vs DEX guide covers the self-custody alternative, and a personal wallet means learning how to secure your seed phrase first.

Best Place to Buy Crypto: Fees, Minimums and Drawbacks

EVEDEX appears in the table for price exposure only: it lists perpetual futures rather than coins, a trade-off our perpetual futures vs spot comparison explains.

Place to buyHow it chargesMinimum and accessDrawbacks
Kraken app1% fee on instant and recurring buys, 1.5% on custom orders, and Kraken may keep excess spread1 USD minimum, 10 USD for cards; verified account and age 18+ required to buy with cashCard fee is not published as a percentage
CoinbaseSpread included in the quote plus a fee that depends on payment method and order sizeIdentity verification at account creation; minimums vary by coin and payment methodNo fixed simple-buy rate is published, and limit orders add a separate 1% execution fee
Cash App2.0% below $500, 1.5% from $500, 0.9% from $1,000 and 0% from $2,000, plus up to 0.75% spreadBitcoin purchases from $1; Auto Invest and Round Ups carry no feeSmall purchases pay the highest rate, and the published fee table covers bitcoin only
PayPal and Venmo2.20% under $75, 2.00% to $200, 1.80% to $1,000 and 1.50% above, plus a conversion spreadPurchases from $1 inside the PayPal or Venmo app for eligible US accountsHighest flat fees on purchases under $1,000, and the spread is not disclosed as a number
Binance2% to buy with a Visa or Mastercard card, 1.5% with PayPal; Convert has no fee beyond the quoteGlobal app and website; not listed in the US App Store, where Binance.US is a separate appConvert quotes can differ from Binance spot prices, and Binance pleaded guilty to US AML violations in 2023
Spot bitcoin ETFsAnnual fee of 0.25% for IBIT and FBTC, 0.15% for Grayscale BTC and 1.50% for GBTCBought like a stock through a brokerage account, alongside shares and other ETFsNo keys and no withdrawal of actual bitcoin, and the fee repeats every year you hold
Bitcoin ATMsKiosk fees of 7% to 20% per transaction, according to a FinCEN notice from August 2025Cash inserted in person at a kiosk, with coins sent to a wallet address you provideMost expensive place to buy here, and linked to $389M of reported scam losses in 2025
EVEDEXNot a place to buy crypto: perpetual futures only, with 0.015% maker and 0.045% taker feesMinimum deposit 6 USDT; BTC-USD up to 200x leverage on positions up to $50,000 notionalYou never own coins or keys to them

Data as of September 15, 2026. Fees and minimums: Kraken fee schedule and buying FAQ, Coinbase fees, Cash App bitcoin fees, PayPal consumer fees, Binance buy and sell fees, issuer pages for IBIT, FBTC, GBTC and BTC; kiosk fees: FinCEN FIN-2025-NTC1; losses: FBI IC3 2025 report. EVEDEX is a perpetual futures exchange and is listed as an alternative to buying, not as a place to buy coins.

What a $500 Bitcoin Purchase Costs

Published fees only become useful when you apply them to the same amount. For a $500 bitcoin purchase on September 15, 2026:

  • Spot bitcoin ETF: IBIT or FBTC costs $1.25 a year at 0.25%, and Grayscale's Bitcoin Mini Trust costs $0.75 a year at 0.15%. There is no coin to withdraw.
  • Kraken instant buy: $5.00 at 1%, plus any spread Kraken keeps. Kraken+ members have the fee waived on up to $10,000 of monthly volume.
  • Cash App: $7.50 at the 1.5% tier that starts at $500, plus a spread of up to 0.75%, or up to $3.75 more.
  • PayPal or Venmo: $9.00 at 1.80%, plus a conversion spread that PayPal does not state as a number.
  • Binance with a card: $10.00 at 2%.
  • Bitcoin ATM: $35 to $100 at the 7% to 20% range cited by FinCEN.

Coinbase is missing from this list for a reason: its help center says the spread may vary for similar transactions and that fees depend on payment method and order size, so the only reliable number is the one shown on the order preview. The amount also changes the ranking. Cash App drops to 0.9% from $1,000 and to 0% from $2,000, while PayPal's lowest rate is 1.50% above $1,000.

Professional consulting on cryptocurrency investment strategies and risk management

How to Choose Where to Buy Crypto

Work through these points before you fund an account.

  1. Own coins or price exposure An exchange or app can send coins to your own wallet; an ETF cannot. If you want to self-custody, learn how to secure your seed phrase before the first withdrawal.
  2. Size and frequency of purchases Tiered fees reward larger buys. Cash App charges 2.0% below $500 and nothing from $2,000, and recurring buys through Cash App Auto Invest carry no fee.
  3. Payment method Cards cost more. Binance charges 2% on card purchases, and Crypto.com charges 1.49% for debit card top-ups.
  4. Disclosure Prefer a platform that publishes a percentage. Coinbase and PayPal both add spreads that are not stated as fixed numbers, which makes comparison harder.
  5. Account security Coinbase requires two-step verification and supports security keys and passkeys, and its allowlist delays sends to new addresses by 48 hours. Kraken's Global Settings Lock blocks new withdrawal addresses even if your password and sign-in 2FA are stolen.
  6. Custody model Centralized apps hold coins for you until you withdraw. Read our guide to CEX vs DEX if you are weighing a self-custody exchange instead.

Risks That Cost Buyers the Most

Scams, not fees, cause the largest losses for new buyers. FinCEN's August 2025 notice on crypto kiosks reported that FBI IC3 complaints involving these machines rose 99% in 2024, with about $246.7 million in reported losses. The FBI's 2025 report counted 13,460 complaints and $389 million in losses, and people aged 60 and older lost $257.5 million of that. The FTC says reported losses at Bitcoin ATMs are overwhelmingly tied to government impersonation, business impersonation and tech support scams, with a median reported loss of $10,000 in the first half of 2024. No legitimate agency or company asks to be paid through a crypto kiosk. If you prefer to use cash anyway, our guide on how to buy bitcoin with cash explains the safer options.

Platform risk comes next. Coinbase disclosed in a May 2025 SEC filing that insiders at support contractors had passed customer data, including names, addresses and government ID images, to a threat actor; the company estimated related expenses of $180 million to $400 million. No passwords or private keys were compromised, but stolen personal data makes targeted phishing more convincing. Keep phone numbers and email addresses used for exchange accounts private, and treat any unsolicited message about your account as suspect.

Finally, check what you are actually buying. A bitcoin ETF share tracks the price but cannot be sent to a wallet, and PayPal's crypto fees do not apply to its PYUSD stablecoin, which follows its own rules. Read the product page, not the marketing banner.

Price Exposure Without Buying: EVEDEX

EVEDEX does not sell crypto. There is no spot market, no card purchase and no way to withdraw bitcoin you "bought", because every one of its 52 pairs is a perpetual futures contract settled in USDT. Orders are matched off-chain and settled on-chain on Arbitrum L2. What it offers instead is price exposure with leverage: the BTC-USD contract allows up to 200x on positions up to $50,000 notional, fees are 0.015% maker and 0.045% taker, and funding is calculated every 8 hours and charged hourly. That suits a trader who wants to go long or short for a limited period, not a buyer who wants to hold coins for years, and leverage can wipe out a deposit quickly. The trade-offs are covered in our comparison of perpetual futures vs spot, and the contract mechanics in our explainer on perpetual futures. Perpetual futures carry a high risk of loss.

FAQ

Crypto can be bought on exchange apps such as Kraken and Coinbase, payment apps such as Cash App and PayPal, global exchanges such as Binance, or indirectly through spot bitcoin ETFs in a brokerage account. On September 15, 2026, published fees ranged from 0.15% a year for Grayscale's Bitcoin Mini Trust to 7–20% at Bitcoin ATMs.
Buy bitcoin safely through a regulated app you open yourself, never through someone who contacts you first. Turn on strong two-step verification: Coinbase ranks security keys and passkeys above SMS, and Kraken recommends passkeys. Avoid being guided to a Bitcoin ATM, a channel linked to $389 million of reported losses in the FBI's 2025 IC3 report.
To buy crypto, open an account on an exchange or app, verify your identity, add a payment method and place a buy order. Kraken requires a verified account and users aged 18 or older, with a 1 USD minimum. Compare the fee before you confirm: Kraken charges 1% on instant buys, Binance 2% on card purchases.
Cash App sells bitcoin inside the app from as little as $1, either as a one-off market purchase or through Auto Invest and Round Ups. Market buys carry a fee of 2.0% below $500, 1.5% from $500, 0.9% from $1,000 and 0% from $2,000, plus a spread of 0% to 0.75%, according to Cash App's fee page.
Card purchases are possible but cost more and card rules vary. Binance lists a 2% fee to buy crypto with a Visa or Mastercard card, Kraken sets a 10 USD card minimum, and Crypto.com charges 1.49% to top up with a debit card, as of September 15, 2026.
Yes. Bitcoin is divisible to eight decimal places, so apps sell fractions priced in dollars. Robinhood's minimum crypto order is $0.01 through market maker routing, Cash App starts at $1 and Kraken's minimum is 1 USD. At $76,888 per bitcoin on September 15, 2026, a $100 purchase buys about 0.0013 BTC.
Bitcoin ATMs are the usual in-person choice, but they are the most expensive. FinCEN's August 2025 notice says crypto kiosks can charge fees of 7% to 20%, and the FBI recorded 13,460 kiosk-related complaints and $389 million in losses in 2025. The apps compared here charge about 1% to 2.2% on the same purchase.
Regulated platforms do not sell bitcoin anonymously. Coinbase requires identity verification at account creation, and Kraken requires a verified account to buy with cash such as USD or EUR. FinCEN's 2025 notice warns that scammers push victims toward crypto kiosks, so treat any offer of anonymous buying with suspicion. Expect identity checks when you pay with bank money.
Bitcoin can be bought on apps such as Kraken, Coinbase and Cash App, which hold real coins, or as a spot bitcoin ETF inside a brokerage account, without keys. On September 15, 2026, iShares Bitcoin Trust (IBIT) and Fidelity's FBTC charged 0.25% a year, Grayscale Bitcoin Mini Trust 0.15% and GBTC 1.50%, per issuer pages.
For small US purchases with a published rate, Kraken's 1% instant-buy fee is lower than Cash App's 2.0% under $500 or PayPal's 1.80% to 2.20% under $1,000. Coinbase does not publish a fixed simple-buy rate, so check the preview. Binance charges 2% on card buys but is not in the US App Store.

Related Blog Posts

mobile crypto trading interface

Best Cryptocurrency Trading Apps in 2026: 8 Apps Compared

Best cryptocurrency trading apps in 2026: EVEDEX, Coinbase, Kraken Pro, Robinhood, Crypto.com, Bybit, OKX and Binance compared by markets, costs and ratings.

Vladimir Shepelev

Vladimir Shepelev

June 8, 2026
8 minutes
Stock trading chart

Bakkt Stock: What Investors Need to Know About This Crypto Platform

Bakkt stock offers exposure to institutional crypto trading infrastructure. Understand the business model, risks, and how it fits your portfolio.

Erekle Kevlishvili

Erekle Kevlishvili

April 20, 2026
8 minutes
Gold trading floor

COMEX Gold Futures: How They Work and Why Traders Watch Them

Learn how COMEX gold futures set global prices, drive trading volume, and shape hedging strategies across physical and digital commodity markets.

Elizaveta Bakradze

Elizaveta Bakradze

May 12, 2026
8 minutes